Headline »

November 23, 2014 – 10:52 am

Asheboro, NC – On Saturday, the North Carolina House Republican Caucus voted to elect their leaders for the next biennium session of the North Carolina General Assembly. Rep. Tim Moore was elected to be the …

Read the full story »
Local News

The latest up-to-the-minute local news about the people and the communities in and around Lincoln County.

Local Columns

Follow your favorite teams in college and professional sports. We even post news items about local kids soccer, football and other sports here.


Our obituary section is provided free of charge as we wish to assist families in memorializing their loved ones as well as providing accurate funeral arrangements.


Read the latest opinions on local, state and national issues and culture from writers from the area, the nation and the globe.

Home » Uncategorized

Burr surprises many with switch on DADT

Submitted by on December 19, 2010 – 10:25 pm

Sen. Richard Burr - R-NC

WASHINGTON – Both United States Senators from North Carolina voted on Saturday to end the military’s policy of “Don’t ask, don’t tell” in reference to those wishing to serve in the military and their sexual preferences.

Senator Richard Burr told Washington’s “The Hill” that he didn’t think this was the right time for such a broad policy change but once the Republican filibuster had been overcome he voted in favor of ending the policy.

Burr told The Hill: “I have vehemently objected to making a policy change of this magnitude at this time,” he said, but added that once the filibuster was overcome, “that settled that.”

Burr continued: “A majority of Americans have grown up at a time that they don’t think exclusion is the right thing for the United States to do,” Burr said, also noting, “It is not accepted practice anywhere else in our society and it only makes sense.”

Senator Burr, a Republican, and Senator Kay Hagan, a Democrat, joined 63 other Senators in voting to end the 17-year-old policy. Burr was one of 8 Republicans who voted “yes” to repeal the ban.

The roll call of the 8 Republicans who voted “yes”: Brown, Mass.; Burr, N.C.; Collins, Maine; Ensign, Nev.; Kirk, Ill.; Murkowski, Alaska; Snowe, Maine; Voinovich, Ohio.

All 55 Democrats and the two Independents in the Senate voted in favor of the bill.

Leave a comment!

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Content Protected Using Blog Protector By: PcDrome.